giovedì 29 maggio 2014

TEMPELHOF & GIGI MASIN - Hoshi LP - Hell Yeah Recordings

discosafari - TEMPELHOF & GIGI MASIN - Hoshi LP - Hell Yeah Recordings

This June will see Tempelhof return to Hell Yeah Recordings, this time teaming up with Italian legend Gigi Masin for the ‘Hoshi’ L.P. ‘’Hell Yeah is proud to announce the release of Hoshi, another exciting full-length album project that again involves the talented Tempelhof, this time in association with legendary Italian composer, director and musician Gigi Masin.
Fellow Italians Luciano Ermondi and Paolo Mazzacani are known for their hugely musical electronica and late last year released Frozen Dancers, their most recent album on Hell Yeah. It was a master class in spacious and emotive sound that was a joy to get lost in.
For this next album, the pair team up with legendary producer Gigi Masin, who played a key role in his country’s music scene from the 1970s onwards on radio, on television and in theatre with his directorial work. Always a fine source of inspiration for newer generations, the likes of Bjork and To Rococo Rot have been known to sample Masin’s sumptuous sounds before now. Together, then, Masin and Tempelhof make perfect sense as a musical partnership as this album proves across the course of its 10 elegant tracks. The album is an exploration of peaceful ambient, of organic musical textures and brain soothing soundscapes that are as classically informed, as they are contemporarily creative. Some pieces are floating and beat-less and suspend you right at their centre, whilst others are driven by light dustings of percussion from far off in the distance.
Words like water, heaven and peaceful spring to mind when listening to this album – its truly evocative and spacious, elegant and vast in its design. Like the synth delights of Vangelis, this album spreads out in all directions – sometimes synths are joined by sombre twinkling pianos, at other times more real life found sounds or occasionally the sound of distant, drifting voices.
Despite the serenity of this album, it’s also a piece or work that really takes you somewhere: as such it’s too moving and emotive to be truly ambient as it retains your attention from start to finish. Come the end you feel like you’ve been meditating in your own world, free from the distractions of life… it’s that peerless craftsmanship from Tempelhof and Gigi Masin that make this album such a breath taking triumph.
Andrea Amaducci, as always, is at the artwork controls.’’


A1 Jolla
A2 The Dwarf
A3 My Velvet Book
A4 Red Venus
A5 Interstellar Bop
B1 Buena Onda
B2 Silver Wave
B3 Joe Jordan
B4 Bow Down
B5 She Left Home

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento