giovedì 14 novembre 2013

SPECIAL REQUEST - Soul Music - Houndstooth

This autumn marks the release of Paul Woolford's debut full-length album as Special Request. Following a run of four incendiary 12-inches on his own imprint that drew attention from right across the dance music community, the UK producer and DJ will deliver Soul Music - diving even deeper into the raw energy of UK pirate radio influences that informed his previous EPs - via fabric's recently established label, Houndstooth.
Using a studio built almost exclusively from vintage hardware and boosted by industrial-strength EQ and an FM transmitter, Woolford constructs what he refers to as "false memories" broadcasting his material in order to sample and re-incorporate it in a myriad of different ways. The outcome of this unorthodox method is an album of considerable weight. This debut will be released in two stages: 7th October sees the album released on a triple vinyl LP; whilst the CD and digital versions, released on 21st October, include a bonus volume featuring the Special Request VIP of Tessela's Hackney Parrot (already played 5 times on BBC Radio 1 across 3 different shows) alongside the remix of Lana Del Rey's 'Ride', further tracks from the previous 12- inches, plus unreleased reworks from Detroit's Anthony Shakir, New York's Anthony Naples, Leipzig's Kassem Mosse & Mix Mup, Chicago's Hieroglyphic Being and London's Lee Gamble. Not for the faint hearted...


01 - Forbidden
02 - Undead
03 - Cold Blooded
04 - Body Armour
05 - Lockjaw
06 - Ride Vip
07 - Soundboy Killer
08 - Broken Dreams
09 - Black Ops
10 - Capsules
11 - Deranged
12 - Descent

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento